Catalytic Sound Festival

Concert - Fri 8 October 2021
WORM Rotterdam
WORM Central Station
Doors → 20:00
Start → 20:30
End → 23:30

Catalytic Sound is a collective of around 30 international musicians who pool their resources. A festival for the Dutch- and Belgian-based organisation takes place in WORM Rotterdam, Pletterij Haarlem en Bimhuis Amsterdam, 8, 9, 10 October.

The night will be divided up into a series of duo/trios. Expect a mix of new combinations and existing ensembles that have developed over the years. Belgian rock journalist Guy Peters is your genial host!

Note! Alleen 30 tickets zijn beschikbaar voor WORMs zaal.

STREAMING LINK (betaald)!  Voor de online ticket kopers, je krijgt een code voor de show op je kaart (kijk uit, het kan in kleine letters geschreven zijn!)

WORM Catalytic Sound Festival line up – details

Ig Henneman, on viola, will play with Gonçalo Almeida on bass and brilliant Slovenian pianist Kaja Draksler

Andy Moor (The Ex) and Cypriot Composer Yannis Kyriakides are a long-standing duo working with textured and pulse electronics and abrasive guitar. They will perform pieces from their recent release ‘Pavilion’ on the Unsounds label.

Terrie Ex and Kaja Draksler will play as a duo, an enervating combination of strings and keys galore. Later Ab Baars will join on reeds (tenor sax clarinet, shakuhachi). The trio plans to release a CD in the near future.

Jaap Blonk and Raoul Van de Weide will begin an improvised set, then joined by Terrie Ex. This promises to be a cacophony of sound, voice, electronics and double bass; with Terrie’s unmistakable guitar sound.

Hanne De Backer is a powerful and vibrant reed player from Antwerp. Hanne will play  baritone sax with drummer Onno Govaert. Guitarist Andy Moor will join them.

Ab Baars (tenor sax), Joost Buis (trombone) and Hanne De Backer (baritone sax and bass clarinet) are three incredible horn players. The trio have never played together before. So: the idea was, put them together and see what happens! Expect fireworks.


set 1

1. Ab Baars en Joost Buis + Hannah Backer

2. Ig Henneman Gonzo Kaja draklser

3. Yannis Kyriakides Andy Moor

4. Jaap Blonk Raoul Van de Weide Terrie Ex

set 2

5. Kaja Draksler Ab Baars Terrie Ex

6. Jaap Blonk & Yannis Kyriakides

7. Gonzo Raoul Van de Weide Joost Buis Ig Henneman

8. Hanna Backker Onno Govaert Andy Moor


Guy Peters – MC

Gonçalo Almeida – bass

Ab Baars – tenor sax clarinet, shakuhachi

Hanne De Backer – baritone sax, bass clarinet

Jaap Blonk – voice electronics

Joost Buis – trombone

Kaja Draksler – piano

Ig Henneman – viola

Terrie Hessels – guitar

Yannis Kyriakides – electronics

Andy Moor – guitar

Raoul van der Weide – bass

Onno Govaert – drums