Tue 5 Sep '17 - Concert

MiMa 64: Jooklo and Riccardo Sinigaglia + Duke S.

Sounds from the Italian underground

Jooklo & Riccardo Sinigaglia (IT)
The duo Jooklo (Virginia Genta and David Vanzan) and Riccardo Sinigaglia (founder of the legendary Futuro Antico and Correnti Magnetiche) met in November 2015 in Milan, at a studio session organised by Black Sweat Records. The collaboration that grew out of this meeting is an ever-evolving electro-acoustic research which (according to the participants) invokes “ancient rituals, deeply rooted in improvisation and abstract structures aiming to a complete fusion of several sound sources.” Sinigaglia and Jooklo utilise Farfisa organ, synthesizers, reeds, and percussion to create harmonious but often challenging results. Expect “old and new dreams of Italy’s finest psychedelia and “new shapes (in) the realm of mystic music.”

Duke S. (NL)
Duke S. is the project of √Čtienne Baudet. Baudet’s sound is a quirky mix of synthetic exotica, Sun Ra-esque electro jazz and ambient, laced with “faux field recordings”. The feeling is both futuristic and outdated, evoking ancient Egypt as well as adventures in outer space. At times the sound has something of Finnish composer Pekka Airaksinen. Live shows are accompanied by 8-bit visuals and of course cactuses.